Real Madrid Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon d’Or

||||| 7 I Like It! |||||
 Cristiano Ronaldo

Portugal and Real Madrid forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the Ballon d’Or for a fourth time.

Ronaldo was part of teams which won both the European Championships and the Champions League during 2016.

The 31-year-old topped the poll of 173 journalists worldwide, with Barcelona and Argentina forward and five-time Ballon d’Or winner Lionel Messi in second position and Antoine Griezmann of Atletico Madrid and France third.

Ronaldo played a crucial role as Real beat city rivals Atletico Madrid in May to become European champions for a record-extending 11th time.

Just two months later, Portugal triumphed at Euro 2016 in France to claim a major trophy for the first time, despite Ronaldo being forced off with injury early on in the final.


Cristiano RonaldoRonaldo helped Portugal win Euro 2016 in France.

Ronaldo has scored 48 goals in 52 appearances club and country during 2016, although he was unable to accept the award in person as he in Japan as Real Madrid prepare to compete in the FIFA Club World Cup.

The last time he won the Ballon d’Or was in 2014, the year it merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year accolade

The award moves Ronaldo clear of three-time winners Marco van Basten, Michel Platini and the late Johan Cruyff.
Commenting on his triumph, Ronaldo said: “I never thought in my mind to win four times the Golden Ball, so I am so pleased and so happy.

“I have the opportunity to thank all of my team-mates, the national team, Real Madrid, all of the people and players who helped me to win this individual award.

“As you can imagine I feel so proud and happy to receive this amazing and beautiful ball, I am so happy.”

Ronaldo’s Real Madrid team-mate Gareth Bale, who helped drive Wales to the semi-finals of Euro 2016, was voted in sixth place, with Ronaldo then confirmed as overall winner before the rest of the placings were announced.

Messi and Griezmann were eventually confirmed as second and third in the rankings, with Barcelona duo Luis Suarez and Neymar fourth and fifth, respectively.


Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted seventh and eighth respectivelyRiyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted seventh and eighth respectively

Leicester duo Riyad Mahrez and Jamie Vardy were voted in seventh and eigth, respectively, after helping the Foxes win the Premier League title.

Paul Pogba became the world’s most expensive player when he joined Manchester United from Juventus for £89m in the summer, and the France international placed 14th, one spot behind club team-mate Zlatan Ibrahimovic

West Ham’s French playmaker Dimitri Payet ranked joint 17th.

Rankings for the 2016 Ballon d’Or

1. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR) – Real Madrid

2. Lionel Messi (ARG) – Barcelona

3. Antoine Griezmann (FRA) – Atletico Madrid

4. Luis Suarez (URU) – Barcelona

5. Neymar (BRA) – Barcelona

6. Gareth Bale (WAL) – Real Madrid

7. Riyad Mahrez (ALG) – Leicester

8. Jamie Vardy (ENG) – Leicester

9= Pepe (POR) – Real Madrid

9= Gianluigi Buffon (ITA) – Juventus

11. Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (GAB) – Borussia Dortmund

12. Rui Patricio (POR) – Sporting Lisbon

13. Zlatan Ibrahimovic (SWE) – PSG then Manchester United

14= Paul Pobga (FRA) – Juventus then Manchester United

14= Arturo Vidal (CHI) – Bayern Munich

16. Robert Lewandowski (POL) – Bayern Munich

17= Dimitri Payet (FRA) – West Ham

17= Luka Modric (CRO) – Real Madrid

17= Toni Kroos (GER) – Real Madrid


Related Posts:
Ronaldo named Best Player in Europe – Yes he is!!!!
The records still waiting be broken by Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi

No Comments Yet

Comments are closed

Powered by